What a Difference a Year Makes

A little over a year ago, an event occurred that changed my life. Or at least it changed my writing life.

The New York Times Travel Show, the veritable institution of journalism excellence brought together the best and the brightest from the travel industry to share with commoners (like myself) and members of the travel media (of which I aspire to belong). Sitting in the travel media sessions, learning about cultivating your persona (or brand) online, I realized that my first foray into blogging didn’t really seem to have a strong purpose and direction. Sure, it was fun to write stories about my life in NYC, but it was a bit insular and only of interest to its participants (but dang, it was funny).

Sitting in the basement of the Javits Center, listening to noted travel bloggers and writers talking about their websites and online “presence”, I was inspired to begin anew. This time, focusing on my love of travel and writing. It seemed easy enough. Thanks to WordPressย and some creativity I had a place to begin. Or so I thought.

Turns out this blogging business requires a dedication and focus made difficult, if: 1) you find you don’t have the finances to travel as extensively as you would like and 2) you work a 12+ hour day sitting in front of computer leaving you little time or desire to come home and write a 300+ word blog post.

So I thought, heck, focus on the next best thing: armchair travel. One of my most favorite leisurely (a.k.a. do nothing) activities is curling up in a chair and reading. And I had PLENTY to read, as I always seem to peruse book shop table and snag 2-3 new reads that inevitably end up in a stack on my nightstand begging to be read (seems I acquire at a rate that does not match the act of reading itself). And then there is The New York Times, whose Travel section is the highlight of my Saturday morning. Peeling back the translucent blue plastic and searching for this treasured section, which is always bundled with The Book Review (making every Saturday like Christmas), is only made better when I have nowhere to go and a cuppa joe on hand.

Then I thought, heck, I can write about my recent move to New Jersey and exploring my new home state. Of course that really only works if you take the time to write such entries (see excuse #2 above). Sigh. But on the plus side, there were a couple of gems I managed to share. So I’ve got that to show for it. And then there were the excursions out of the state: hiking the White Mountains in New Hampshire, Christmas in California with my family and my most recent sailing adventure in the British Virgin Islands. Trips made possible due to some pre-planning and travel deals. Then there was Boots ‘n All’s 30 Days of Indie Travel Project, which challenged me to blog every day in the month of November (challenge accepted and completed).

Thinking back to March of last year, I didn’t know what this year would hold and I suppose to a certain extent I’m still trying to find my voice and figure out what type of stories to tell. But I’m doing it. And that’s got to count for something, right?

4 thoughts on “What a Difference a Year Makes

  1. it’s amazing how much can and can’t happen in a year! I think we all struggle with the ebb and flow of it all. Keep on keepin’ on ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thanks, Stephanie. It’s so true! I’m finding more and more when I try to force it to work, it just doesn’t. I want to enjoy the process of writing and just “being” with my writing as opposed to following a regimented plan of sorts. All in all, work in progress is a good way to be! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

