The End…Or the Beginning?

Today is the last day of the 30 Days of Indie Travel Project and I find myself sitting here reflecting on what I’ve accomplished this November. I’ve certainly been prolific (30 posts in a month compared with my average of two), but some pretty stellar things happened along the way. I fell in love with writing again, got out of my endless editing loop, strengthened my writing/blogging voice and, most importantly, accomplished a goal that I intentionally set…in writing (something I’m told is rare – thanks Dave Ramsey).

And while it will make me sad that a BootsNAll prompt will not arrive tomorrow, I’ll take with me the experience, the bloggers I’ve met along the way and create my own system to keep writing and telling stories.

So here goes, for the last time…

Day 30: 2012 Ticket

Where are you going in 2012?  Why is that place great for indie travelers?  

The British Virgin Islands.

This is my first BIG adventure of 2012. Not only will it be my first trip to the Caribbean, but I’m going with friends, who are avid sailors and have rented a catamaran to take us through the islands. Just thinking about it, the trade winds blowing through my hair with nothing but the jeweled tones of the sea shimmering underneath my feet, makes me want to pack my bag tomorrow and camp out at JFK until they assign a gate number.

This is the ultimate indie experience, or at least it is to me. Off the beaten path, charting our own course — the metaphors of travel are literally built-in to the trip and are in and of themselves the activities we will pursue. I’ve yet to buy a Lonely Planet to see what awaits me. I know December will be jam-packed with research, planning and day-dreaming — something I haven’t done in a long while, and can’t wait to start.

And before I know it, there I’ll be, Moleskine and pen in hand, taking in the sights, sounds and faces around me. Just think of the stories waiting to be told…can’t hardly wait.

4 thoughts on “The End…Or the Beginning?

  1. Congrats on fulfilling the goal of writing each day. I only found the project on day 18, and have loved taking part each day. So many topics I otherwise would not have written about…

    And as someone that has been to BVI, you have a great adventure ahead. Spend some time in Tortola…we had a great day there on a catamaran and stopped in a seafood shack for some conch fritters…best I’ve ever had and I’m from Florida!

Leave a Reply

