At Home at the End of the World

How I love the perfect fall day.

Getting up early and feeling the warmth of the sunlight streaming through the slats of the blinds, the sound of fallen leaves crunching underneath my Converse. Add in a cuppa joe, The New York Timesย and I’m a happy camper. So here I sit, a pug sleeping soundly underfoot when it dawns on me I could take this quiet time and prioritize today’s blog’s post and dedicate this early time to writing.

How novel! And it only took me 26 days to figure it out.

Day 26: Photo

Post a photo of your favorite place and tell us what you love about it.

The Dana Point Headlands.

This to me, is one of the most beautiful spots I’ve ever encountered and the fact that it’s where I grew up makes it that much more special to me. I can remember field trips in elementary school exploring the tide pools and poking harmless sea anemones to get them to spit water at us; and later when I was older, reading Richard Henry Dana’s “Two Years Before the Mast” where he and fellow sailors would slide pelts down the sides of the cliffs to reach The Pilgrim docked below.

It is also the place where I am most at peace. I can sit for hours gazing at the sea as it crashes along the jagged shoreline, the smell of the briny air boring its way deep into my lungs. Sitting at the western edge of the U.S. nothing on the horizon but endless blue, my mind is free to wander. I feel at once insignificant, but in awe of the world and my place in it. More importantly, it’s the place where I’ve sat with my dad and pondered the major “what ifs” of my future — college, backpacking through Europe, grad school, the giant leap of moving to New York.

This is the place that established the ocean as my first love of nature. And while I long to explore the beauty the rest of the natural world has to offer, I’ll always come home to the place where it all began.

7 thoughts on “At Home at the End of the World

  1. Beautiful picture and great post. It’s so nice that you were able to grow up in such a beautiful place.
    I agree that there is nothing better than coffee and the New York Times, though I am far from an early riser, haha.

  2. What a lovely place to live! I visited Dana Point a few years ago for a work conference and thought it would be a brilliant place to live! Walking along the water, sun in face – glad to have had the visit!

  3. Pingback: At Home at the End of the World – Dana Point Headlands | Dana Point Headlands News and Books

Leave a Reply

