You’re Gonna Make Me Lonesome When You Go

Throughout the course of this 30 Days of Indie Travel Project, I’ve exposed my thoughts and musings on travel, outlook on life and writing in a way that’s been one-third confessional, one-third personal growth and one-third disciplinary (in the writing sense). With each post, it’s as though I’m peeling back the layers of an onion, exposing new parts of my traveler’s life. And now this…love affairs.

Yikes.

Day 21: Love Affair

When we travel, our senses are heightened. We feel more alive and we’re more free to do things we might not at home. We can be who we want. There’s an air of urgency to everything we do – we know our time here, in this place, and with these people, is limited. If we want to do something, we have to do it now. It’s no wonder then that many travelers have relationships on the road. Tell us about a “special someone” you met while traveling. 

I have to confess. I’m not really the kiss ‘n tell type of girl. Although, I get the allure of the topic. Travel allows us to be the best versions of ourselves. We’re unencumbered by the daily grind, in a state of pure exploration and inquisitiveness that alights our souls and makes our eyes shine with an unending desire to connect, learn and quite simply, really live.

If you’ve been following my 30 Day Project, you may remember my “music” selection about a lovely Irish lad named Sam. If I think about the one “special someone” I met on the road, it would have to be him. Maybe it was the long conversations about music and literature, regaling each other with funny stories from our childhoods. There was something freeing about confessing our deepest held dreams and aspirations. After all, I was a backpacker spending a few days in London and would soon be traveling back home. At the time I thought, “what the hell. I’ll never see him again.” I brought down my deeply guarded wall and let him in — I had no idea he would find his way into my heart long after we parted ways.

Fast forward a few months later and I’m living back at my parents house in the cookie-cutter enclave of suburban Orange County. One day, out of the blue, a letter arrives with its distinct Royal Mail “par avion” sticker. Sam.

And so started a lengthy pen pal relationship – us trading fatly stuffed envelopes with letters that more closely resembled journal entries, complete with photos and the true sign of devotion…a mixed tape. Bands and songs we waxed lyrical about were prominently featured along with a Bob Dylan song. It seemed an odd choice, but once I heard it, I got it.

I’ve seen love go by my door

It’s never been this close before

Never been so easy or so slow

Been shooting in the dark too long

When somethin’s not right it’s wrong

Yer gonna make me lonesome when you go

It was so beautiful, so poignant. What I didn’t realize at the time was that the song foretold the demise of our correspondence-based relationship. And while it wasn’t meant to be, that moment in time holds a special place in my heart and I know it does for Sam as well. How can I be sure? From time to time, we’ll drop each other an email and catch up – something will spark a memory, more often than not, it’s that same Bob Dylan song.

I’ll look for you in old Honolulu

San Francisco, Ashtabula

Yer gonna have to leave me now, I know

But I’ll see you in the sky above

In the tall grass, in the ones I love

Yer gonna make me lonesome when you go

2 thoughts on “You’re Gonna Make Me Lonesome When You Go

Leave a Reply

