City Love

Sitting here, thinking about today’s 30 Days of Indie Travel Project. Rattling through all the cities I’ve had the pleasure of visiting and I’m stuck. The charm and vibe a city exudes can get under your skin almost the moment you set foot within the city limits. But which one to choose? There are my European favorites: London, Barcelona, Paris and Florence. But then my mind wanders over to Asia and I’m thinking about Hong Kong and Beijing.

Decisions, decisions.

Day 15: City

What is your favorite (or least favorite) city and what do you love (or hate) about it?

You never forget your first.

City, that is.

After years of traversing the contiguous 48 in search of KOA campsites, my parents decided it was time for us to forgo the Tioga RV and take a trip to the East Coast and the birthplace of the American Revolution, Boston, Massachusetts. It was so different from anything I had ever seen. For one, all the buildings were made of brick. And for a girl who grew up near the San Andreas fault, this was an anomaly. All of our homes out West were made of materials that would sway with the earth. Bricks somehow lacked that quality.

Architecture and geologic episodes aside – Boston has numerous qualities that make it a favorite. Not only was it the first city I visited, but it was also the first major city I lived in. So, what makes it a favorite? Here’s my top five…

  1. Size matters. My brother and I both lived in Boston at different points in our adult life. We would joke around that it should be called PlaySkool’s My First City owing to the smallish subway system, condensed downtown area and small parks right in the heart of town. But its geographical size adds to its charm and quaint, small town feel
  2. Boston = ice cream. That’s right! Did you know on average Bostonians consumer more ice cream per capita than any other city? Reason enough to love it right there
  3. History is everywhere. Follow the red brick road and you’ll take a cardiovascular history lesson through the American Revolution
  4. Literary gems abound. Swing by the Boston Public Garden and you’ll find Mama Mallard and her ducklings from Robert McCloskey’s epic children’s book “Make Way for Ducklings.” The bronze statues in the park are always buffed to perfection thanks to all the wee ones who park it on a duck’s back
  5. Fenway Park and the Red Sox. Not only is it the oldest ballpark in the U.S., but the Green Monster and Fenway Frank make it the best ballpark around. Not to mention, the Red Sox Nation are an incredibly proud bunch. They love and support the team even in the most dire of circumstances. It’s this love and devotion that makes for such an animated game. If you can swing it and score a standing room only ticket the conversations you hear will make you blush, but I guarantee you will have an awesome story to tell

Of course this barely even scratches the surface of what Boston has to offer. But it’s the little things that bring a smile to my face every time I think about Beantown and my good fortune for being able to stay awhile.

4 thoughts on “City Love

    • It definitely was a great place to live (albeit briefly) – I really loved the energy, its quintessential New England aesthetic. Would go back in heartbeat if I could.

      If you have the opportunity to move there – I highly recommend!

  1. Pingback: The Best of BootsnAll’s 30 Days of Indie Travel | BootsnAll Travel Articles

  2. Pingback: Make Way For Baby on Ducklings - DaddyLibrary.com

Leave a Reply

