Quoth the Traveler

Now here’s where I clean up!

Being a writer, a reader and teller of tales there are few things I love more than a good quote. I think it harkens back to my first Franklin Covey day planner, where on each daily calendar page there was an inspirational quote from Ben himself, Whitman or countless others.

To be able to develop a pithy quote or one-liner that is so simple and straightforward, but all-encompassing at the same time is a goal to which I aspire. Heck, all my books (and Kindle) are dog-eared and underlined with quotes and passages that are brilliantly written. And the frame of my office corkboard? It’s littered with quotes from the Yogi Tea bags. Hmm, although maybe that borders on slightly obsessive.

Day 14: Quotes

What’s your favorite quote about travel? Why does it stand out to you?

I can’t even remember where I was or where I first encountered it. But it had all the criteria of what I was looking for:

  • Notable author – check
  • Musings on travel – check
  • Aspirational and transformational – double check

Here was a quote that best explains what travel means to me. In fact, I wrote about in an earlier blog post (my first!).

“Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-mindedness, and many of our people need it sorely on these accounts. Broad, wholesome, charitable views of men and things cannot be acquired by vegetating in one little corner of the earth all one’s lifetime.” -Mark Twain “Innocents Abroad”

So simple, yet so profound. It’s the true gift that travel bestows on those who are open to it. It’s less about the sights, the postcards home to loved ones or the perfect souvenir. It’s about opening your eyes to the grandiose world beyond your doorstep; connecting with people who live life in a drastically different way and finding the common thread that links you together; and embracing a new culture, learning local customs and traditions as a gesture of both admiration and respect.

All the experiences you collect on the road find their way into your purview and your life is forever changed. And the best part? This travel experience is available to anyone with an open heart and mind. Whether you are heading to Bentonville or Beijing, the opportunity is there, waiting for you to seek it out.

5 thoughts on “Quoth the Traveler

  1. “Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-mindedness” is my favourite and I also like “There are no foreign lands. It is the traveler only who is foreign.” Robert Louis Stevenson

  2. YO! I have found my tribe! I’m a transplanted East Coast woman (DC), now living in Missouri (Mark Twain country). For 7 years, my husband was the Director at the Mark Twain Birthplace State Historic Site at Florida, MO–I lived and breathed Mr. Twain, and have a very special place in my heart for the man. LOVE your quote!
    I, too, have been a wanderer from the childhood family road trips to flights halfway around the world; I keep a bag partially packed, just in case adventure calls!

    • Too funny! Our paths have been in reverse. West Coast born and raised, school in Colorado and out to the East Coast. That’s awesome your husband worked at Mark Twain’s birthplace too. Such a beautiful spot!

  3. Pingback: Following Your Passion « erin graves

Leave a Reply

