Challenge Accepted

Confession: I toyed with the prospect of participating in NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) for those unfamiliar with the acronym. But I couldn’t commit since it’s not so much that I have a novel in mind that I’m dying to write. It was more about writing daily, focusing on getting the words on paper to meet the 1,667 daily word count as opposed to getting mired down in the editing/review process.

So imagine my surprise (and delight) when I read a BootsnAll tweet about their own 30-day challenge, otherwise known as The 30 Days of Indie Travel Project. The premise? For the next 30 days, BootsnAll will provide daily prompts allowing bloggers to “reflect on past travel experiences.” And since I posted only one measly entry for the month of October, this is right up my alley. Fingers (optimistically) crossed it will give me the burst of creativity I crave. So here goes nothing…

Day 1: Goals

What were your travel goals last year? Did you accomplish them? What travel goals do you hope to accomplish this year?

After seven years of living in New York City and having relied on a wee bit of ahem, plastic, my travel goals have taken a slight detour. However, I recently read Dave Ramsey’s “Total Money Makeover” and have a slightly different goal: financial freedom to allow me the freedom to travel extensively.

This isn’t to say travel has become completely foreign. This past year I set out to explore my new home state of New Jersey: from snowshoeing at High Point National Park to discovering the hidden gems of the Jersey Shore in the summer. This, along with a couple of short weekend trips (New Year’s Eve in Vermont and a family reunion in Oklahoma) has allowed me to get out and explore a bit more of the contiguous 48.

As for next year? My goal is to be finish paying off all of my remaining debt and plan my triumphant return to international travel. I’m thinking South America. Perhaps a trip to Machu Picchu or Patagonia? Until then, I’ll continue to daydream with National Geographic and AFAR magazines, and the countless websites and blogs that keep me tuned into the world at large.

Leave a Reply

